Development Status of Producer Countries

An attempt was made to identify the development status of all countries that produce mineral raw materials. The different producer countries were classified according to international standards considering in particular UNCTAD and IIASA classifications. The classification has been adopted for statistical convenience only.

Important note: The designations "developed", "in transition" and "developing" are intended for statistical convenience and do not necessarily express a judgement about the stage reached by a particular country or area in the development process. Where the designations "economy" or "country" appear in tables, they cover countries, territories, cities and areas.

Developed, developing countries:


There is no established convention for the designation of "developed" and "developing" countries or areas in the United Nations system. In common practice, Japan in Asia, Canada and the United States in northern America, Australia and New Zealand in Oceania and Europe are considered "developed" regions or areas. In international trade statistics, the Southern African Customs Union is also treated as developed region and Israel as a developed country; countries emerging from the former Yugoslavia are treated as developing countries; and countries of Eastern Europe and the former USSR countries in Europe are not included under either developed or developing regions (see economies in transition). For detailed list of developing countries see

Source: United Nations. Standard country or Area Codes for Statistical Use. Series M, No. 49, Rev. 4 (United Nations publication, Sales No. M.98.XVII.9).

Least Developed Countries:


According to the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Committee for Development Policy, countries listed below are included in the list of the least developed countries (year in brackets indicates the inclusion in the group):

Africa: Angola (1994), Benin (1971), Burkina Faso (1971), Burundi (1971), Central African Republic (1975), Chad (1971), Comoros (1977), Congo, D.R. (1991), Djibouti (1982), Equatorial Guinea (1982), Eritrea (1994), Ethiopia (1971), Gambia (1975), Guinea (1971), Guinea-Bissau (1981), Lesotho (1971), Liberia (1990), Madagascar (1991), Malawi (1971), Mali (1971), Mauritania (1986), Mozambique (1988), Niger (1971), Rwanda (1971), Sao Tome and Principe (1982), Senegal (2000), Sierra Leone (1982), Somalia (1971), South Sudan (2012), Sudan (1971), Tanzania (1971), Togo (1982), Uganda (1971), Zambia (1991)

Asia and the Pacific: Afghanistan (1971), Bangladesh (1975), Bhutan (1971), Cambodia (1991), Kiribati (1986), Laos P.D.R. (1971), Myanmar (1987), Nepal (1971), Solomon Islands (1991), East Timor (2003), Tuvalu (1986), Vanuatu (1985), Yemen (1971)

Latin America and the Caribbean: Haiti (1971)

Source: United Nations. Office of the High Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States (OHRLLS). United Nations Internet site

Economies in Transition:


Asia: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Europe: Albania, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, Russia, Serbia, Macedonia, Ukraine