World Mining Data

Home > World Mining Data > Regional and Sectoral Groups > Economic Blocks or Cartel-like Associations

Economic Blocks or Cartel-like Associations

Economic blocks or cartel-like associations were included as follows (in alphabetical order, year of entry in brackets):

ACP Countries: African, Caribbean and Pacific group of states linked to the European Communities as signatory to the Georgetown Agreement and the Lomé Conventions.

Africa: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo D.R., Congo Rep., Côte d'Ivoire, Djibuti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauretania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Caribbean: Antigua-Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St. Kitts-Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent-Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago

Pacific: Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, East Timor, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu

ASEAN Countries: Association of South East Asian Nations

Brunei (1984), Cambodia (1999), Indonesia, Laos (1997), Malaysia, Myanmar (1997), Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam (1995)

BRICS Countries:

A 2001 report by Goldman Sachs chief economist Jim O'Neill created the modern term for the four major emerging economies with annual growth rates in economic performance of 5 to 10%. BRICS stands for the initials of the countries of Brazil, Russia, India and China. South Africa joined in 2011.

EC (EU): European Community

Austria (1995), Belgium (1952/58), Bulgaria (2007), Croatia (2013), Cyprus (2004), Czech Republic (2004), Denmark (1973), Estonia (2004), Finland (1995), France (1952/58), Germany (1952/58), Greece (1981), Hungary (2004), Ireland (1973), Italy (1952/58), Latvia (2004), Lithuania (2004), Luxemburg (1952/58), Malta (2004), Netherlands (1952/58), Poland (2004), Portugal (1986), Romania (2007), Slovakia (2004), Slovenia (2004), Spain (1986), Sweden (1995), United Kingdom (1973-2020)

EFTA: European Free Trade Association

Austria (until 1994), Denmark (until 1973), Finland (until 1994), Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Portugal (until 1986), Sweden (until 1994), Switzerland, United Kingdom (until 1973)

G7: Group of the Most Important Industrialized Countries

G7 (1976): Canada, Germany, France, Italy, Japan, United Kingdom, United States of America, Russia (1998-2013)

MERCOSUR (Mercado Comun del Sur): Common Market of the South

Treaty since January 1, 1995 between Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay establishing a common market; Venezuela 2006-2017; associated members: Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Peru, Suriname

OECD: Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development

Australia (1971), Austria (1961), Belgium (1961), Canada (1961), Chile (2010), Colombia (2020), Costa Rica (2021), Czech Republic (1995), Denmark (1961), Estonia (2010), Finland (1969), France (1961), Germany (1961), Greece (1961), Hungary (1996), Iceland (1961), Ireland (1961), Israel (2010), Italy (1961), Japan (1964), Korea, South (1996), Latvia (2016), Lithuania (2018), Luxemburg (1961), Mexico (1994), Netherlands (1961), New Zealand (1973), Norway (1961), Poland (1996), Portugal (1961), Slovakia (2000), Slovenia (2010), Spain (1961), Sweden (1961), Switzerland (1961), Turkey (1961), United Kingdom (1961), United States of America (1961)

SADC: Southern African Development Community

Angola, Botswana, Comoros (2017), Congo D.R. (1997), Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar (2005-2009, 2014), Malawi, Mauritius (1995), Mozambique, Namibia (1990), Seychelles (1997-2004, 2008) South Africa (1994), Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe

USMCA: United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (former NAFTA)

Canada, Mexico, United States of America. USMCA was established on July 1, 2020 (NAFTA: January 1, 1994 - June 30, 2020).


Powered by CMSimple | Template by CMSimple |